Structure of RDA

RDA Great Southern is one of nine RDA Committees in Western Australia, incorporated under the Incorporations Associations Act 1987 and is funded by the relevant Federal Department.  RDA Great Southern is guided by 11 Committee members representative of community, Local Government and State Government. For more information about our Committee Members click here

Australian Government Framework


Regional Development Australia is a partnership between the Australian, state, territory and local governments to develop and strengthen the regional communities of Australia. It will have a pivotal role in ensuring the long-term sustainability of Australia's regions.


Regional Development Australia will work with all sectors of the community, including women, young people, Indigenous Australians and people from a variety of cultural backgrounds.


A key focus of Regional Development Australia will be on the economic, social and environmental issues affecting communities. Regional Development Australia will be an important contributor to and driver of:

  • regional business growth plans and strategies, which will help support economic development, the creation of new jobs, skills development and business investment
  • environmental solutions, which will support ongoing sustainability and the management of climate change (including the impact of drought, flood or bushfires), and
  • social inclusion strategies, which will bring together and support all members of the community.

Western Australian Government Framework

The State Government’s priority areas for funding over the next four years include health, education, disability services, mental health and child protection. The Government of Western Australia’s Royalties for Regions Program supports regional WA communities.

Like RDA, the State Government has a focus on sustainable regional development. The WA Department of Regional Development facilitates local decision-making in regional areas through the identification of strategic projects. The State Government has a strong presence in regional development through the activities undertaken by the Great Southern Development Commission.  The Commission’s Strategic Directions 2010-2014 Strategy defines the role of the organisation as building partnerships for regional prosperity through the planning, coordination and promotion of sustainable development.

The Western Australian RDA Network

In Western Australia the RDA network is comprised of nine regional RDA Committees including metropolitan Perth. The nine regional RDA (WA) Committees are non-profit community-based incorporated associations and their regions are based on the Western Australian Regional Development Commission boundaries as follows:

  • Goldfields Esperance
  • Great Southern WA
  • Kimberley
  • Mid West Gascoyne
  • Peel
  • Pilbara
  • South West
  • Wheatbelt
  • Perth 

Click here to view a map of the RDA (WA) Committee boundaries

RDA Chairs and members will be expected to contribute their time and energy and have a personal commitment to working in partnership with government for the benefit of their local and regional communities. Each RDA Committee will receive annual operational funding from the Australian Government. RDA Committees will use this funding for approved committee projects, to employ staff, undertake administrative operations, and to implement the RDA charter.

For further information on Regional Development Australia including WA, please refer to This site also provides a link to the Minister for Regional Australia's website.

Regional Framework

A number of governance arrangements are in place to ensure the future sustainability of communities through resource sharing, diversification, and establishment of Regional Organisations of Councils to achieve future economic, environmental and social sustainability. Existing arrangements include the Southern Link Voluntary Regional Organisation of Councils (VROC) that includes the Shires of Broomehill-Tambellup, Cranbrook, Kojonup and Plantagenet.  These LGAs exchange knowledge and work practices to achieve a better level of services and economies of scale in the region. The City of Albany and Shire of Denmark work closely together on service provision to reduce costs, for example, for waste disposal and recycling.

Sub-regional groups are an important component of the Great Southern, with a number of LGAs,   not-for-profit organisations and/or community groups collaborating on projects that address common issues.

A coordinated and collaborative approach is essential to achieve the shared priorities of Federal, State and Local governments. Strategic community planning processes undertaken by Local Governments reveal consistent themes across the Great Southern including water use, waste management, promoting tourism, maintaining road transport networks, community development, population growth and industry diversification. The issues and recommendations contained in respective Local Government Community and Planning Strategies are reflected in this and other Regional Plans, wherein specific actions and priorities are identified accordingly.