The Great Southern region of WA borders the southern ocean on the south coast of Western Australia and extends inland for 200 kilometres. It covers 39,007 square kilometres and represents 1.5% of Western Australia’s total land mass. It comprises 11 Local Government Authorities including the City of Albany and the Shires of Broomehill-Tambellup, Cranbrook, Denmark, Gnowangerup, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kent, Kojonup, Plantagenet and Woodanilling.

Renowned for its unspoilt natural environment including white sand beaches, tall timber forests, wildflowers and spectacular coastline complete with whales and dolphins and other marine life, the region has an inspiring and diverse tourism offering. The region is located within the internationally recognised South West biodiversity hotspot and was recognised in the Lonely Planet Travel Guide as one of the top ten destinations in the world in 2010.

The Australian Bureau of Statistics estimates the Great Southern Region’s population in 2013 to be 59,234. The City of Albany, the State's oldest European settlement, is the region's administrative, business and financial hub. Albany is the major centre for light industry and tourism and home to approximately 36,262 residents or 61% of the region’s population.

The coastal part of the Great Southern region enjoys a Mediterranean climate with generally warm summers and cool, wet winters. Rainfall gradually decreases and temperatures increase as you move from the coast to inland areas.  The north and east of the region is considered to be semi-arid with hot and dry conditions. Higher rainfall areas tend to support a wider range and greater diversity of industry activities.


Land Area - 39,007km2
No. of Local Gov’t Areas - 11
Total Population - 59,234
Median Age - 41
Main Industry - Agriculture
Largest population centre - Albany


District Centres in the Great Southern region with a population of around 5,000 include the towns of Denmark, Katanning and Mount Barker. Smaller towns in the region, with a population of less than 2,500 include Kojonup, Woodanilling, Pingrup, Nyabing, Jerramungup, Bremer Bay, Wellstead, Cranbrook, Frankland, Tambellup Broomehill, Borden, Ongerup, Gnowangerup, Nornalup, Kendenup, Rocky Gully and Tenterden. For a detailed ABS Community profile of the Great Southern click here...